Robert D.​

​​Perfect Tropical Getaway

Even better than expected!

Katelyn M.

​​Had a great time!

SH9824

​California

This was our first trip to Roatan and were very nervous that we had picked the right accommodations, but from the reviews we said lets go for it. I cannot tell you how happy we were that we did. The inn is the most beautiful place set in a jungle setting with less than a two minute walk to the beach. We stayed in the Toucan room which was plenty big enough for the two of us. It has a king size bed that is SO comfortable, air conditioning which you don't have to leave on when you go out - the room was never hot or stuffy. The cute wicker love seat was great to sit and watch tv or have your morning coffee. I can't imagine you would want to do that with the amazingly huge veranda right outside which over looks the jungle and beautiful in-ground pool. The room is equipped with a kitchenette that has a microwave, toaster, coffee maker with real coffee cups - not styrofoam - I hate that and with the best coffee I have ever tasted you would not want to ruin it with a fake cup. The room has a walk-in closet with plenty of room, the bathroom is all tile and a good size with an ample size walk-in shower.

Carolyn, the owner greets you with a huge smile that seems to always be there, you can tell how she loves this place and takes such pride in the inn. When we booked, I had so many questions and she graciously answered them all, and that continued when we arrived - you never felt like you were a bother. She let us know everything she provided including a local cellphone for our use on the island, and suggested we stop at the grocery store which is right on the way from the airport - what a great idea because once you arrive you don't want to leave. The beach is less than two minutes and Carolyn has arranged with the best bar on West Bay to provide beach chairs and umbrellas to her guests - that was awesome and she was totally right about Beachers having the best coconut shrimp and Monkey LaLa's on the island.

Walk to the beach, grab a water taxi to West End shop and have dinner at one of the restaurants Carolyn suggests - she has done her homework and wants to make sure every one has the best experience. After your long day of snorkeling, dinner and dancing you take your short walk back to the majestic SeaSide Inn where you have serenity and peace, it is amazing that the inn is so close to all the action but when it is time to retire for the evening it is so peaceful.

Can't wait to go back to Roatan and will not stay anywhere but with Carolyn !

Stayed: February 2015
Submitted: February 22, 2015
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway

​​Fantastic!


Perfect. My husband and I traveled to Roatan for our honeymoon and we had the most relaxing trip of our lives. Carolyn was fantastic. She arranged for her approved taxi driver to pick us up from the airport and bring us grocery shopping. Carolyn also greeted us as soon as we arrived and answered any, and all of our questions. It was also great that we had two fantastic neighbors in the bungalow to share breakfast with (Tom and Brenda! We hope to see you on our next visit!) Speaking of breakfast... Wow. I repeatedly asked Carolyn if I could take her home with me. Her breakfasts were the best I've had in my whole life. Every morning was such a treat!


We had everything we could have ever thought we might need provided for us! Water, ice, fresh towels, fresh sheets, blender, toaster, fridge, a giant DVD rental collection to use at night, washer and dryer (which was so nice to bring home clean clothes!), private pool for b&b guests only! Which you would say with the beach SO close why would you need it? Well it was the best thing first thing in the morning and before bed. Hammocks to read in over looking the pool were fantastic for the mornings as well!


The room was immaculate and so was the entire property.


My husband and I were able to snorkel right off the beach over the reef. He was also able to scuba dive with West Bay Divers. He had an amazing time with Kernan and Zach.


Perfect location, barely a walk to the beach and when you got the the sand; the restaurant Beachers made sure that Carolyn's guests were taken care of with beach chairs and umbrellas!


My husband and I used to talk about traveling the world. Well that's over. Now we only talk about our return to Carolyn's and Roatan! When you've found paradise stick to it!


Thank you Carolyn for such a lovely stay. We can't wait to come back!

Stayed: March 2015
Submitted: May 19, 2015
Source: HomeAway Family

​​​​Wonderful Holiday

Even Better

We are retired farmers from Nebraska. We have traveled many places on God's good earth. We had just returned from Burma and Thailand when we headed south to Roatan. We usually spend some of the winter in Belize, but we chose Roatan this year and we are delighted that we chose this B&B on West Bay. The Seaside Inn accommodations have surpassed our expectations. The inn is located just the perfect distance from the most popular and beautiful beach on the island. We have enjoyed many rum punches at Beachers Bar and Grill. Our Innkeeper, Carolyn, was the most gracious and friendly hostess; accommodating our every need. We stayed in the Macaw Suite for 2 weeks then moved to the Gecko bungalow for the remainder of our stay. Both unites were immaculate and well provisioned. We enjoyed the beautiful swimming pool and lounge chairs. Of course we had some refreshing rainy days and nights, but even those were enjoyable. And the breakfasts were delicious. Being long terms guests, we were delighted to have a washer, dryer and propane grill provided. Carolyn picked up some items we needed: a few groceries and the island's famous chocolate flavored rum. Before you reach the water's edge we enjoyed the friendly camaraderie of West Bay Divers on our way for the yummy coconut shrimp at Beacher's. A fine Argentinian restaurant is located next door where we enjoyed a steak that rivaled mid-west beef. If Kay and I was to grade the place and people that run and manage it. We would rate it a 5 Star B&B We are so happy we chose Seaside Inn for our vacation on Roatan.

Stayed: January 2015
Submitted: February 18, 2015
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

My Wife and I stayed in the Toucan suite Mar17- Apr6, 2015 and enjoyed every day we were there. The Inn and owner Carolyn Belfor were wonderful. As advertised the Inn is a two min. Walk to probablythe best beaching the Island giving access to world class snorkeling, restaurants that offer great food and unmatchable sunsets or, if just going for a stroll, the star fishing lounging in the sea grass are waiting to greet you. The Seaside Inn was and is all it's advertised to be. We enjoyed our breakfasts every morning on a huge deck with views overlooking jungle and a great pool that we used often later in the day or for just a quick evening splash. But the best touch of a all was the fish truck that delivered fresh caught lobster, shrimp, or red snapper that we grilled on the deck on the occassional evening. Carolyn, the owner was a wonderful host with a wealth of information about Roatan that she was happy to share with us. The services she recommended were second to none! When renting a car it was delivered to our door at 08:00, water and wheeled taxis recommended were always waiting for us with clean and safe boats or cars and knowledgable drivers. I did a lot of " shopping" prior to booking the suite at the Seaside Inn and I have to say I really did get lucky. Our accommodations were great, our hostess was wonderful and the price that included the 19 percent tax was a lot less than Carolyn could have charged. I had read a review that mentioned the "hill" to climb when walking from the beach. My Wife and I are both 60 years old and from the prairies. We are not exactly used to steep climbs so I was a bit concerned over the hill comment. Well the "hill" is nothing more than a slight uphill grade that posed no problem at all and gave us a chuckle.

Stayed: March 2015, March 2016, March 2017
Submitted: April 12, 2015
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: People with disabilities, Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

We stayed at the Seaside Inn, Gecko Bungalow for three wonderful weeks. This was our 5th visit to Roatan and this is one of the best places we have rented. The bungalow is perfect for two people, very comfortable and had absolutely everything we needed. Carolyn is awesome and very attentive to her guests needs. We were impressed with the cleanliness and condition of the entire inn. The services Carolyn provides - water, ice, wonderful breakfasts, fresh sheets weekly, replacement towels when needed and beach towels was a pleasant surprise. The very short walk to and from the beach was not a problem even in the dark when you have had a few too many Monkey Lala's at Beachers, Carolyn provides a flashlight. The large guest deck and pool are very nice. We highly recommend the Seaside Inn.

Stayed: February 2015
Submitted: March 15, 2015
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Tourists without a car, Age 55+

​​Excellent Location - Beautiful Place!

Tom and Brenda

Canada

Denise and Monty

Gainsville, FL

Tom & Nicole

Montreal, Quebec

Jack & Kay

​Lewellen, NE

Garth and Debbie B.

Saskatchewan, Canada

Could not have asked for more

We'll be back!

I stayed here for about two weeks in May/June and came back for another vacation in early October. Carolyn has done a ton of work making the property even better. There is a new swimming pool with lounge chairs and she's building a little bar area. Same easy access to West Bay Divers and the water taxi to West End. Same great restaurants within walking distance. This place is starting to feel like a second home.

Stayed: October 2014
Submitted: October 25, 2014
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway

Jonathan S.

​​Perfect

​​​​Really convenient and comfortable

Wannabe Islanders

​Dallas, TX

Ian

​California, USA

Alvin

​Dallas, TX

And we are already planning the next one! My husband and I stayed in The Gecko, and his parents were in the Macaw. We were all wowed by Seaside Inn's perfect location, (a lovely short stroll to the GORGEOUS beach, but just back into the greenery enough to be super-peaceful), the charm and cleanliness of the accomodations, and Carolyn's AMAZING hospitality. (She even offered her car to us to explore the island!) If you go to Beachers on the beach at the end of the lane, the owner, Lindy, and his staff will make you feel like royalty. Water taxis to West End, etc. are always handy right in front of Beachers. Great snorkeling EVERYWHERE! Awesome folks at West Bay Divers down the lane on the way to the beach. Arrange for George to pick you up at the airport; sweet, reliable, detailed, and knowledgeable, he can also create a custom tour of the island for you. We are planning another family trip for next year, and Carolyn's place in Roatan is THE destination!

Stayed: August 2014
Submitted: August 14, 2014
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway

My husband and I stayed in the Gecko Bungalow for 10 days in April 2015. We had a fantastic time. The unit was the perfect size for 2 people. The bed was very comfortable. The kitchen had cooking supplies (pots, pans, utensils, small fridge/freezer, etc). In the living room the TV had lots of english channels (not that we watched TV much). It was a bit hot so the 2 AC units were appreciated. During high season a nice continental breakfast is served (very good selection). The pool was also very nice and we used it every day. The unit is very close to the beach-about a 3-4 minute walk down a quiet street. We often went to "beachers" (restaurant with a 2 for 1 hour and where we could get free beach lounge chairs). We are divers and we did all of our diving with west bay divers (a 3-4 minute walk away). We wanted to explore the island island one day, so Carolyn helped us get a rental car (45 dollars a day). It was very convenient as they dropped off the car and picked it up. However, a car is not really needed everyday for roatan because the beach and many restaurants are all close by. Carolyn was very helpful throughout our entire stay.

Stayed: April 2015
Submitted: April 20, 2015
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Tourists without a car, Romantic getaway

Once-in-a-lifetime experience!

My husband and I stayed in the Gecko Bungalow for 10 days in April 2015. We had a fantastic time. The unit was the perfect size for 2 people. The bed was very comfortable. The kitchen had cooking supplies (pots, pans, utensils, small fridge/freezer, etc). In the living room the TV had lots of english channels (not that we watched TV much). It was a bit hot so the 2 AC units were appreciated. During high season a nice continental breakfast is served (very good selection). The pool was also very nice and we used it every day. The unit is very close to the beach-about a 3-4 minute walk down a quiet street. We often went to "beachers" (restaurant with a 2 for 1 hour and where we could get free beach lounge chairs). We are divers and we did all of our diving with west bay divers (a 3-4 minute walk away). We wanted to explore the island island one day, so Carolyn helped us get a rental car (45 dollars a day). It was very convenient as they dropped off the car and picked it up. However, a car is not really needed everyday for roatan because the beach and many restaurants are all close by. Carolyn was very helpful throughout our entire stay.

Stayed: April 2015
Submitted: April 20, 2015
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Tourists without a car, Romantic getaway

​​We Will Definitely Be Back! Wonderful Stay!

The location is excellent, in a quiet forested area situated just a little back from the crowd and the beach. Inside the bungalow we are very comfortable with windows all around, good air circulation with the addition of three ceiling fans. The windows open and close easily with sealed mosquito screen. Kitchen, living room, bedroom and washroom are conveniently equipped and neat, confortable. Sleeping at night with open windows and the sound of the forest are great when you fly in from a cold country and have not seen green leaves for many months. The 8h00 AM breakfasts on the large shaded deck of the main house are excellent and complete. Nicole and I absolutely enjoyed our two weeks stay at the Gecko bungalow at the end of March 2015. The owner, Carolyn made our stay even more enjoyable with generous information about the island and being able to organize for car rental, delivered one morning and picked up the next. She could also provide contacts and cues for a marvellous private mangrove and snorkelling boat tour in Jonesville, on the other side and end of the island. She also had many advices for restaurants in West Bay as well as in West End and over the island. We were in Roatan for a coral reef snorkelling holiday and it’s was magnificent to go for our early morning and late afternoon hour of snorkelling on a less crowded beach. It is a rapid and easy walk from the bungalow. On the way back, we could rinse ourselves and our gears with the hose by the bungalow entrance. The owners and the staff of West Bay Divers are very welcoming. We could join them, in some of their dives, where they would bring us to snorkelling places, such as Blue Channel, for a very inexpensive price. They also accompanied us for an amazing night snorkelling experience. For those who enjoy a more animated beach, there are a lot of people later on in the morning and in the afternoon. We preferred the more quiet and late afternoon period. After our morning snorkelling, we could linger on the porch of the bungalow, the hammocks on the main deck and, once in a while, go into the pool to cool off. There, I loved to meditatively look the many iridescent colors from the many little glass tiles. Then again we could snooze in the bungalow, read, listen to the CD’s we had brought, preparing and enjoying our home made meals. Once or twice a week, someone came to offer fresh fish and seafood for which Carolyn provided sound advices. It is difficult to search for a negative point.

Stayed: March 2015
Submitted: April 11, 2015
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Tourists without a car, Age 55+, Romantic getaway

My husband and I stayed in the Gecko Bungalow for just over a week and had a wonderful time. The pictures of the property, while enticing, don't do it justice. The house was set up beautifully with nice amenities and very comfortable. We both slept well on the solid but soft bed, the shower was really nice with strong water pressure, and the kitchen was stocked and perfect for cooking for two. The house was very clean and clearly well-maintained. Good screens and being on a second story so to speak meant we had no bug issues. We did see geckos, mostly outdoors but a few indoors, from time to time but that just added to the experience! We especially loved sitting out on the deck every night, listening to music and watching the sun go down. Beautiful sunsets complimented by all kinds of wildlife, including bats at dusk, which are my favorite!

The bungalow was close enough to the beach, restaurants and more (less than a two minute, easy walk) to make everything easily accessible, but far enough away to be away from the cruise ship and partier noise. When my husband would go scuba diving in the mornings, I would walk alone to catch a water taxi from the beach and go to a yoga class. I never felt less than safe staying at Carolyn's and in the surrounding area. Not only is it a great place in a great location but Carolyn is great too. Super helpful and friendly. After a brief conversation where we both revealed Malbec as our favorite wine, she sent me over a glass one night we were both eating at the same restaurant! Just an all-around cool lady. I would absolutely recommend this place and we will definitely be staying here on our subsequent trips to Roatan. The Gecko Bungalow is the best!

Stayed: May 2014
Submitted: July 20, 2014
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Tourists without a car, Romantic getaway

Reed Family

Seaside Inn, West Bay Roatan

Reviews

Very nice, well equipped unit. Very clean, reliable WiFi, room safe, abundant cable TV channels, DVD player with movies, books to read, comfortable bed, clean towels and linens, complete kitchenette with plates and utensils, coffee maker with filters, microwave, refridgerator, super silent AC unit with remote control, flashlight and most important of all: a 5 gallon bottle of drinking water ! Two large beach towels and a local cell phone in case of emergencies or for calling a taxi, etc..... Carolyn, thank you so much for your hospitality ! I really enjoyed my stay and would not hesistate to return. A brand new swimming pool was the icing on the cake ! It will look so beautiful once the lighting and water feature are completed ! Acomodations are close to everything and is an outstanding bargain ! West Bay Divers and the beach are a close 3 minute walk. Highly recommended ! You will definitely enjoy your stay !

Stayed: September 2014
Submitted: October 14, 2014
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Families with teenagers

Eric and Sue

Ottawa, Ontario

JTA

Boston, MA

Fantastic trip to Roatan and it's all about location! Caroline, the owner and 1st in command of the Seaside Inn was wonderful. The pictures of her beautiful home on the website do not do it justice. We rented all 3 rooms, and because of our length of stay (10 nights) we used all the amenities: pool and chaise lounges, hammocks, box of games and gaming tables, bbq grill, ice maker, washer and dryer, and ceiling fans all located on the second floor sprawling veranda facing the ocean. The rooms were all well appointed with every conceivable necessity including fresh drinking water, coffee maker, blender, microwave, cable tv, DVD player, a safe, AC, ceiling fans, beach towels, cell phones and even flashlights for the breezy night walks along the beach. And on the chance that we may have needed something, I’m quite sure Caroline would have done her best to get it! Her daily breakfasts were just what we all needed to make it through the day of kayaking, scuba diving, snorkeling, paddle boarding, volleyball playing, swimming with the dolphins, boating...again, I could go on and on. Upon our arrival, Caroline gave us a brief walking tour introducing us to all the people that together helped to make our trip so special. Her taxi man Jorge was prompt and professional, the staff at "Beachers" (THE restaurant/bar in between seaside inn and the ocean) had our beach chairs and umbrellas ready for us each morning, brought us plates of their famous coconut shrimp at snack time, and kept the frozen pina coladas and cold beers coming at a shamefully fast pace throughout the day! The fish man brought us freshly caught snapper, lobster and grouper which we threw on the grill on the evenings we were too tired to muster up the energy to go out. And the dive shop- West Bay Divers, a 5 star outfit located directly behind ” Beachers”, and on our 2 minute path to the beach each day, had something to accommodate everyone on our trip! Thanks Caroline for making our family vacation so special. We’ll be back!! Denise and Monty

Stayed: December 2014
Submitted: January 10, 2015
Source: VRBO


We stayed at this great little resort for a week in July. It’s a gem of a little place right off the most beautiful beach on the island. West Bay Beach is stunning. The location is fantastic. We saw a couple of the places we were going to rent and they were not anywhere near the beach. (Beware of some of the false advertising – some of the places say they’re on West Bay but they are not!) We had a short stroll right down to West Bay Beach and came out of the lane right near Beachers Restaurant. So very glad we decided to stay here at Seaside.

The Seaside Inn was spotlessly clean and super comfortable. Everyone was very happy with their rooms and all said the beds were very comfy. Loved the little kitchens for fixing sandwiches and keeping drinks and fresh fruits we bought from the street vendors. And of course hot coffee and tea in the morning which we usually drank out on the huge veranda.

The air conditioning was a lifesaver at night. (I don’t think I could have made it without it.) The bathrooms were nice and clean and beautifully tiled. Nice linens and towels. When the private pool is completed this place is going to be fabulous. Quiet, private with lots of parrots and palm trees and the pool off the huge veranda will be the perfect setting in paradise. We are all planning a return trip next year to lounge by the pool. We loved the island. The snorkeling was fantastic. Spotted rays, turtles and lots of beautiful fish. We ate at many nice restaurants. We all agree that the coconut shrimp at Beachers and the beef tenderloin at Argentinian Grill were some of the very best meals. When the cruise ships were in, West Bay was lively and fun with lots of people and activities and when there were no cruise ships the beach was quiet, serene and beautiful. The people on the island are all so friendly and we always felt safe. It’s a very happy little island.

We all agreed we would highly recommend the Seaside Inn. It’s a very nice place to stay in a perfect location and we will all be back next year.

Stayed: July 2014
Submitted: August 11, 2014
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway


CornishShar

​Cornwall, UK

We arrived for a 12 day holiday and were greeted by the owner, Carolyn. The property is absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the Gecco bungalow, one bedroom with a full bath, kitchen, living/dining area. Nice front porch to sit out and enjoy. Carolyn was the perfect host. Very attentive, always with a smile. Her breakfasts were amazing!! The new pool is wonderful for a swim or to lounge around. The property is just a few minutes walk to the beach. Many restaurants and bars in the area within walking distance. We had a fantastic and relaxing vacation. Thank you so much Carolyn. Looking forward to another holiday in the near future. Eric and Sue

Stayed: January 2015
Submitted: February 4, 2015
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+

Stayed a week in the Toucan Suite. The inn is really well planned for a beach vacation. Carolyn, the owner, has thought of pretty much everything. She provides a local cell phone with important numbers on it... she includes beach towels and basic cooking gear so you can sort coffee or breakfast on your own... there is cable TV and a DVD player and she even has a pretty good library of DVDs to borrow... There is ice, a fridge, a grill for cooking out on the deck...all very well planned. She has also arranged some great deals with Beachers (the local restaurant on the beach - free beach chair/umbrella), discounts at West Bay Dive Shop (a great bunch of people), etc. I had a wonderful time! Carolyn is a gracious hostess and a wonderful person to boot - i feel blessed to have made a new friend!

Stayed: August 2015
Submitted: August 15, 2015
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Tourists without a car, Age 55+, Romantic getaway

BEd & Breakfast

Joe & Jeanne

New York, USA

​​​​Perfect!

Ian and Shawnda

​​​​SEASIDE INN IS WEST BAY'S BEST B&B

​​​​​My wife and I spent a week at the Gecko Bungalow and had a fantastic time. Carolyn is a wonderful hostess and provided insider information on restaurants, tours, and shopping. She put us in contact with a driver who got us to/from the airport, out to do our grocery and souvenir shopping, and on a day trip to Little French Key. I went diving with West Bay Divers every day. The proximity to the dive shop is great. The bungalow is also a short walk to some of the best restaurants we found on the island. Vintage Pearl, the Argentinian Grill, and Nice and Spicy were our favorites. The bungalow itself is exactly as represented in the pictures. It was spotless! The screens fit well and we had zero flies/mosquitoes inside. The kitchen was perfect for cooking for two. It was supplied with everything you need, including basic spices. We liked using the DVD player to watch movies and unwind before bed. Carolyn supplied a complimentary enormous jug of purified water and was able to provide more when we ran out. The bed was really comfortable. Similar to what you find in a fancy hotel. We ran the AC at night and the cost of the electricity was minimal. The bungalow has a large private deck. We hung out on the deck watching the wildlife, listening to music, and watching the sunset every night before heading out to dinner. We had a great trip. The combination of amenities and privacy and easy access to restaurants and services is as good as it gets.

Stayed: May 2014
Submitted: July 20, 2014
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway